10 New Editions!

Published on Friday, October 16th, 2020

The King-Smith family are delighted to announce the exciting news that independent children’s publisher Sweet Cherry will be republishing ten of Dick’s books in 2021!

The titles are:

Daggie Dogfoot(Pigs Might Fly), Dragon Boy, Dodos Are Forever, Julius Caesar’s Goat, Warlock Watson, What Sadie Saw, Tumbleweed, Paddy’s Pot of Gold, Find the White Horse and Friends and Brothers.

During his career (and only starting when he was 56!), Dick had over 130 individual titles published, and we are thrilled that some more of these can be enjoyed by a generation.




  • Julia M. Nicholson says:

    I think this idea is brilliant. I have most of these books signed by Dick.
    I taught at Farmborough Primary school with Dick and made a film about his writing with the Book Trust.
    I hope his books, not just Babe, will be recognised and read by children again.

    • Charles Hurst says:

      Thanks so much, Julia, for your kind words. Lovely to hear that you taught at Farmborough with Dick. It was not that long ago that I went there to read to the children with Dick’s daughter Juliet. All the best, Charlie (one of Dick’s grandsons).

  • Alan Wilcox says:

    I am so glad to hear that the author of Babe wrote a dodo book but who is going to illustrate these republished Dick King-Smith books Nick Bruel?

    • Charles Hurst says:

      Hello Alan, and thanks very much for your comment. We don’t know who will illustrate the new editions, but we’ll definitely keep you posted. Watch this space!

  • Miley burbidge says:

    I love dick king smith

  • Jean Ellinor says:

    I’d love it if Saddlebottom was backin print . It’s been a family favourite for years but now I have to find second hand versions to pass on.
    Please reprint it

    • Charles Hurst says:

      Thanks so much, Jean! Glad to know that Saddlebottom was a favourite. We are working to get many of Dick’s stories republished, so we’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Dick King-Smith site illustration